Meritorious Teachers Award of the Delhi Government

Meritorious Teacher Award of the Directorate of Higher Education, Government of the NCT of Delhi

Based on the feedback from students and the Principal, and the records of the efforts put in by the teacher in improving results, in research, extra-curricular activities and in corporate life of college, the Directorate of Higher Education, Government of the NCT of Delhi selects a teacher each year from the Delhi government colleges for the award.  Acharya Narendra Dev College is perhaps the only college where a teacher has got this award every year since the year of its inception in 2011.

2015 : Dr. Gagan Dhawan (Biomedical Sciences)


    This year The Directorate of Higher Education, NCT of Delhi, selected ten teachers from the University of Delhi for the award. Each award carries a citation and 1 Lakh INR.

    Dr. Gagan Dhawan, Assistant professor in Biomedical Sciences, ANDC has a teaching experience of 15 years. He is the recipient of the 'CSIR – Catch Them Young Award' twice during his post-graduation in Biomedical Science under HRD for Biomedical Research: CSIR-University Interaction Model. He did Master’s in Bioinformatics from the University of Edinburgh, UK (2011) under 'Universitas 21 Fellowship' from University of Delhi. His teaching interest spans several fields; including medicinal chemistry, bioorganic chemistry, computational biology and in silico drug discovery, biophysics and immunology. He has published his research work in International Journals of high repute.

    Carrying expertise in Bioinformatics, in 2012, he started an add-on certificate course in Bioinformatics and in silico Drug Discovery and is the Coordinator for the same. He is a proud member of National Network of Mathematical and Computational Biology (NNMCB) funded by SERB, DST, Government of India, to provide training to students in mathematical and computational biology and to promote research activities. To enhance the learning and entrepreneurship skills of the students, he mentors them under DST-IEDC projects and ELITE Fellowship Program of the college and provides them hands-on training. He also supervises the M.Sc. / M. Tech. students for their dissertation projects.

    Dr. Gagan Dhawan has also been the Visiting Faculty (August, 2011) at Laboratoire de Chimie des Polymères Organiques (LCPO), University of Bordeaux, France; Visiting Scientist at Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology, University of Edinburgh, UK (June, 2012); Visiting Faculty, Department of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh, UK (June, 2013) and Guest Researcher at CSIR-IGIB, Delhi (June-July, 2014). In India, he is visiting faculty at NSIT for teaching B.E. (Biotechnology) students and at SISD, Delhi to teach DNB (equivalent to MD) students.

    2014 : Dr. Urmi Bajpai (Biomedical Sciences)

Dr Urmi Bajpai of the Acharya Narendra Dev College was selected for the award in 2014, she was given a certificate and a cash award of Rs 1 Lakh. Dr Bajpai is one of the founders of the Department of Biomedical Science (BMS), introduced by the University at ANDC in 1999. Her vision and hard work has richly contributed in shaping B.Sc., Honours course in BMS. Her focus has been on giving hands-on training to the students and makes them independent learners.

Over the years, Dr Urmi Bajpai has been sanctioned four research projects with a total grant of Rs. 77 Lakhs and that has helped her establish a well-equipped and modern laboratory for Molecular Biology. She has pioneered the Undergraduate research program in the college and about 125 students so far have participated in projects on Cloning and Expression of Mycobacterium tuberculosis genes and on Mycobacteriophages. She is recognized by the University of Delhi as a Ph.D. guide and currently one PhD Scholar and one TATA-CSIR-OSDD Fellowship awardee are working under her guidance on "Multi-target therapy for Tuberculosis". She is often invited as a speaker in various National and International platforms for discussion on new models of education.

2013 : Dr. Amit Garg (Electronics)


Dr. Amit Garg, Associate Professor in Department of Electronics received the Meritorious Teachers' Award of the Directorate of Higher Education, Government of NCT of Delhi for the year 2012-13 from Smt. Sheila Dixit, Hon'ble Chief Minister of Delhi in the august presence of Dr. A.K. Walia, Hon'ble Minister for Higher Education. He was also presented a cash award of Rs. 75,000/- on this occasion.


2012 : Dr Sunita Hooda (Chemistry)

Dr. Sunita Hooda, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry was awarded the 'Meritorious Teachers Award' by Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Hon'ble Chief Minister of Delhi, at a function held on May 10, 2012 in the Delhi Secretariat.  She was given a cash prize of Rs 75,000/- and a certificate.



2011: Dr Sarita Kumar (Zoology)

Dr Sarita Kumar was awarded the 'Meritorious Teachers Award' at a Special function held on May 10, 2011 in the office of the Chief secretary, Government of the NCT of Delhi.  She was given a cash prize of Rs 75,000/- and a certificate.

Dr. Sarita Kumar, Associate Professor in Zoology at Acharya Narendra Dev College is atrained entomologist and obtained her doctoral degree from University of Delhi, India. With more than 22 years of teaching and 13 years of research experience, she has been registered under University of Delhi to guide students for Ph.D. degree. Her area of research includes insect pest and vector control. A prolific writer, she is credited with over 50 publications in reputed international/national research journals and conferences; 15 Books and 15 e-Chapters on science and science education. She works with various government organizations for curriculum development; editing and reviewing of educational content; and as a resource person in many training programs. She has also mentored more than hundred students in innovative science projects and developed products from waste emerged from industries.A believer of open education, Dr. Kumar has facilitated/coordinated International conference and more than 20 workshops in New Delhi. She was selected as one of the ‘Open Access Competition Winners’ amongst the ten worldwide by the International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP), UK, to celebrate the Open Access Week and is also a proud recipient of ‘Distinguished Teacher Award’ conferred by University of Delhi.